Home > Technical > To enable Touchpad Click / Tap on Gdm3 – Fedora 16 Login Screen

To enable Touchpad Click / Tap on Gdm3 – Fedora 16 Login Screen

Edit the following file:
/usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-synaptics.conf
as a super user or root using some text editor.

sudo gedit

Screenshot from 2013-02-06 15:25:07

Add following to “50-synaptics.conf ”

Section “InputClass”
Identifier “touchpad catchall”
Driver “synaptics”
MatchIsTouchpad “on”
Option “TapButton1” “1”
Option “TapButton2” “2”
Option “TapButton3” “3”
EndSection

Restart the machine to see your touchpad Tap working.

Screenshot from 2013-02-06 15:33:48

Note: This enable 2 finger tap for right click & 3 finger tap for middle click.

  1. Fuu
    October 30, 2011 at 6:03 PM

    Thanks, adding the lines:

    Option “TapButton1″ “1″
    Option “TapButton2″ “2″
    Option “TapButton3″ “3″

    to the already existing Section “InputClass” worked like a charm. 🙂

  2. John Brewer
    February 7, 2012 at 7:24 AM

    Yup, works like a charm on my Dell Latitude E6510. Thanks for the instructions!

  3. Abhishek D
    February 7, 2012 at 5:52 PM

    No this does not work.I have a Dell Inspiron 1440 laptop the touchpad here is just able to help for cursor going from one end to the other end of screen.What I want is if I click upon some icon say firefox with touch pad (not the two control buttons below touch pad) then it should launch firefox.This problem I face with Fedora 16 only.I have another machine of same model with Ubuntu installed on it and it works like a charm.Do I need to do some thing additional for this to work on Fedora?

    • February 8, 2012 at 11:03 AM

      If you are using gnome 3, you have an option in system settings –> mouse –>touchpad –> check the option tapping as click. check it is working?. & Also you can enable two finger scroll for easy scrolling instead of your side scrolling if it is available.

      • Abhishek D
        February 8, 2012 at 1:50 PM

        Well since I am new to Fedora I do not know what is running,is there any command by which I can open the thing which you mentioned and then try it.Since laptop touchapd tap is already not working so my life is difficult.

    • February 8, 2012 at 11:08 AM

      On KDE, it is here:

      System Settings > Input Devices > Touchpad > Tapping

  4. May 15, 2012 at 6:23 AM

    Warning** I tried this in Fedora 17 and my system stalled when booting. I’m not sure why it stopped but one of the services didn’t like the change. I booted with a live usb drive and changed it back to get my system to start.

    • the_mistake
      August 20, 2012 at 10:49 PM

      If you copy paste the lines with that kind of quotation on the synaptics file, like I did, that is what happens. If you change the “ ″ to ” “, then it works, and it can be done, using the recovery mode, editing the file with vi or vim.

      With the correct quotation, the tapping on the log screen, works fine on fedora 17.

      • the_mistake
        August 20, 2012 at 10:51 PM

        and, I see that the site auto format the quotes in that way, just write the lines with your keyboard, and then it works fine

      • August 21, 2012 at 9:40 AM

        Thanks for notifying this.

  5. Arentschu
    May 26, 2013 at 2:47 PM

    No, this does not work. (FC17) even with VI in textmode.
    This is how you recovery when the computer won’t boot in gui:
    Edit grub2 by pressing “e” when booting.
    Type “init 2 single” and remove rghb and quiet.
    Press enter.
    Edit the 50-synaptics file urinegewogen vi.
    Reboot. Done.

  6. Sidtheseptist
    May 26, 2013 at 3:07 PM

    Sorry!
    It works, I forgot to add EndSection at the bottom of the “50-synaptics.conf” file.
    So the computer “hung”.

  7. eddy1
    June 2, 2015 at 10:56 AM

    Worked for me in debian gdm3
    Thanks

  8. Fsociety
    August 24, 2015 at 4:19 AM

    Ty,it’s works!

  1. February 7, 2012 at 5:43 PM
  2. July 29, 2014 at 11:42 PM

Leave a comment